Respite

The high today was 111. It is 102 degrees outside (feels like 108, according to the weather report) and about the same here in the apartment.  Everything is hot to the touch.  Poor Sylvie has barely moved all day and looks miserable.  But I took myself up to the 7th floor Wicker Room, which is air conditioned, and was able to sit in the cool for as long as I wanted.  Most of the time I was the only person there, although it is a very large room whose decor matches the name of the room.  I read, ate my lunch, and conversed with a woman who can't stop herself from going on and on about topics of no particular interest.  Now I'm back home for a short while, to do this blip, do something about dinner, and refill my water bottle before heading out again.  The forecast is for 69 degrees tonight, so a chance to sleep more comfortably, and a high of only 94 tomorrow.  So we are moving in the right direction, if slowly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.