To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Along the Revolutionary Road

This coming Monday is Patriots' Day -- a holiday in Massachusetts commemorating the anniversary of the Battles of Lexington and Concord, the first battles of the American Revolutionary War. I'd never heard of this holiday before I moved to Massachusetts, and to be honest, the American Revolution was a vague and distant buzz in my ear from a droning history teacher many years ago.

Here in Massachusetts, however, the start of the American Revolution is colorfully brought to life every year. Patriots' Day is technically April 19, but is usually observed the third Monday in April. In the Concord and Lexington areas, the festivities go on all weekend. The main reenactments and tactical exercises took place today at Minute Man National Park. I wasn't able to see it this year, but I managed to get over to the park later in the day. (I made sure, this time, to park in a designated parking space.)

I found two park rangers in revolutionary period costumes resting, appropriately enough, at Hartwell Tavern, an historical rest stop along the old road from Boston to Concord. They were nice enough to let me photograph them. From what I understand, there are also many groups who participate in the reenactments and who spend the whole weekend playing their parts. The costumes are fantastic, as you can see here.

Incidentally, these are not the first rangers I've photographed at Hartwell Tavern. Somehow I doubt they'll be the last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.