Marsupium Photography

By magi

shadows of the past

At long last we made it back to the museum. Before the pandemic I was a regular visitor - at least once a month. I can't remember the last time I visited. So it was great to go and see the exhibition of the Galloway Hoard (see extra, I know I misspelled it in the past, I blame my dodgy Germany phonetic brain). Fantastic stuff. Like Rowan I was intrigued by the dirt balls. Also the  pretty ordinary rock with gold trimmings was very surprising. I guess it goes to show that it is pretty difficult to come up with an idea of what that time might have been like by looking at items found 1000 years later. The presentation was excellent, good texts and informative films. I must admit that I also quite liked the fact the exhibition was not very crowded. I did miss the story how the hoard was found, recovered and restored.

Afterwards, ice cream and bike shopping. Turns out that we have to wait until November until we get the new wheels. There seems to be an international shortage of bike bits (presumably pandemic related) and increased demand (also partly pandemic related). According to the guy in the shop 2022 will also be problematic and bike supplies will only return to normal in 2023. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.