Infirmity

Recently I’m thinking a lot about the process of ageing. Yes, I know I’m still relatively young, but the last few years have taken a toll on my physical and mental health and I may as well examine the feelings rather than pretend they don’t exist. I feel it’s unavoidable to compare how we are now to how we were ten years ago. The reflection strikes me randomly, such as today when carting back a big packet of toilet rolls from the supermarket. In the past I would have just bundled it under my arm and cycled one-handed or in some precarious position. But I found myself this time not trusting my balance or body and wheeling the bike back. It was a minor event but made me think about the inevitable lessening of our physical limits when we’re no longer 25.

A high point of today was a circuitous route to the supermarket (which is otherwise about 100 metres door to door) via Trumpington meadows. I paused on this bench and took in the dramatic clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.