Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

67 years ago!

67 years ago I was six and it was 1954, does that all sound right!  Australia was in the midst of the Polio crisis and I was in my first year of Primary School.  Big Al, Allan46 sent these two images through to me yesterday and it all looked so familiar.  The image was taken at Wembley Primary School and it was published to promote the practise of washing your hands.  We were encouraged to use soap as well, but I think if you go to the extra the little girl at the rear of the photo is holding onto the soap very tightly and not wanting to share.  No prize for guessing which of the four is your blip buddy Wombat!  Just a clue, Mum had to battle every day to send me off to school with bows in my hair :).  I am impressed however that I appear to be taking the whole procedure very seriously as do my classmates.  
I have just logged in and tagged this image TT318 for Tiny Tuesday.  I know that's pretty cheeky, but it's one of the tiniest images you'll ever see of me :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.