BlipsByBex

By BlipsByBex

Sacre Coer

This is from our first day in Paris. Our hotel was in Montmartre, the 'red light district', but rather cheaper than the rest of the city! We arrived late morning- Sean having been delighted by the Eurostar- and decided to take a walk around. We started a walking tour described in the guidebook, but realised quite soon that we're not so interested in dead authors, so instead ate crepes then had a look at Sacre Coer. There are some nice panoramic views from the hill, but a slightly misty air meant the pics didn't come out so well.
On the way down the hill we encountered a variety of gentlemen attempting to purvey miniature Eiffel Towers, and rather crappy friendship bracelets. I have to say I found their 'hassling' rather amateur- they ought to go to Luxor for lessons on how to hassle tourists properly!! Though I suspect Parisian police are a bit firmer with them than the Luxor ones, and I can't say I minded someone responding to my saying I didn't want to buy their wares.
In the afternoon we pottered about around the Pompidou Centre (but didn't go in- the Dali exhibition had generated epid queues), Notre Dame (and found an ice cream shop), the Pantheon and the Latin Quarter. Dinner was had at one of those small ubiquitous restaurants you seem to find in Paris, serving 'French' food- which was fine, but next time I eat out in Paris I'll make sure I bring enough cash to go for a better place!
The real reason we were in Paris was to see Biffy Clyro, so after dinner we zoomed along the Metro to the Bataclan. The gig was absolutely fantastic- Biffy were on form, and the venue was tiny. Considering Biffy are playing arenas in the UK, seeing them in a 2000 person venue was really something. But shh! Don't tell everyone how cool the Bataclan is, or there will be no tickets next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.