Snap, crackle, and pop

By marking_time

68:43

I took better photos today and knew which one that I planned to share ...

but just as I arrived home, I spotted Bagpuss (aka Fluffy).

Bagpuss is a feral cat that hangs around the village from time to time. He's a fighter and would often mug Chloé, latterly he has been a problem for Dusty. We have an automatic cat feeder that we had to stop relying on because Bagpuss found it and would eat all of Chloé's food.

He is old, but may appear older than he really is. His ears are tattered and torn and he has many scars.

Recently "Son of Bagpuss" has appeared in the village. He must be an offspring of this old cat because he looks so very similar. It amuses me that the people who call the old cat Fluffy have christened the new one "Son of Fluffy" obviously on the same wavelength as we are.

We have always thought of Bagpuss as a problem but today I find myself crying for him. His days are clearly numbered. He's never let anyone come close before. I had the dog with me but the cat barely moved. Normslly he would scarper at first sight. He's been in a fight, most likely with the youngster, and one of his ears (what remains of it) is bleeding. He moved off slowly, growling, when I was within a couple of metres and is hiding under my neighbour's motorhome.

I'd guess that he has days left, maybe hours, and I am surprised by how sad I feel.

I'm going to put food and water out. I'll have a go at seeing if I can get a rescue to come out for him but after trying when we found Dusty I believe it to be highly unlikely that I will get a response. I'd make a bed for him in our outbuildings but fear that Dusty might not tolerate his presence and will take advantage of the old cat's weakened state and settle some old scores.

Poor old Bagpuss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.