LD 462 Dundonald Castle

It is several years since I was in Dundonald - more than nine in fact, as this blip shows and even then I was only passing through.   However  I was there for lunch today.  

When I was at school in Troon I remember walking with a friend to the castle and being disappointed at how poor the access and interpretation on site was.  

To be fair to Historic Environment Scotland and the Friends of Dundonald Castle that has changed a lot over the past fifty or more years , though it is disappointing that access to the ruins is temporarily impossible   - as is the case for a number of other properties , some in different hands  - because of potential danger from facing masonry, a situation exacerbated by the difficulty of ensuring all necessary regular maintenance during lockdown.

A Saltire for a second day wasn't deliberate , by the way, but it just happened to be there..... .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.