fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Dissolution Dissolved

Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.
(Charles W. Eliot)

I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.
(Anna Quindlen, New York Times)


Enough bookshelves? Here is a bookcase in front of wall-mounted bookshelves, and I still haven't got enough! Well, here is my World Book Day blip at last, and I wanted to share with you my absolute favourite series of books - the Shardlake novels by CJ Sansom. Those who know them will already have realised there is one missing. I couldn't find Dissolution anywhere. Maybe it has dissolved, or maybe I've loaned it to someone ...I really don't remember.

Have you ever read a book and loved it so much that you can't stop telling people about it, and buy it for everyone's birthday present that year? That is how I feel about these books. My friend calls it 'book evangelism'!

Shardlake is a lawyer in Tudor London who reluctantly gets embroiled with the dubious political affairs of the king, Henry VIII, and his adviser Thomas Cromwell. He ends up and having to untangle some pretty dark dealings including murder. I've not previously been keen on historical or mystery novels, but the writing of these is superb and the reader can't help but be gripped from beginning to end. The books are also historically extremely accurate, and the descriptive passages bring Tudor England to life. I can't recommend them highly enough!

Don't you just love being wrapped up in books?

You probably won't believe me but it is purely coincidence that my Tudor history books make up the backdrop - I didn't even notice until I was editing the photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.