Arachne

By Arachne

I never, ever thought I would post a picture like this. I inspected some very loud buzzing this morning and found three bees harvesting pollen together in one of these large poppies. They'd all gone to other poppies by the time I'd found something with a lens but they set me thinking about whether they are aware of collaborating rather than competing. I know nothing about bee consciousness but imagine it's probably 'just' instinct. 

I wonder whether you could transfer some bee genes into humans in order to improve the only species that persistently trashes its habitat.

This afternoon I went on a Nature Trail walk to look at orchids. On the ground where my fellow walkers parked (yes, I know) was a plastic bag that had contained a mask. 

I fear we are beyond even the help of bees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.