Marik_i

By Marik_i

Yoga

An old friend mentioned in her letter the other day that she must start doing her Yoga exercises again, or her back will give up. She knows that I only sit at the computer or lie on my bed and read. She suggested that I join a Yoga class on the web. Okey, I tried that but it doesn't work for me as I can't hear and can't even see very well.

But I know that she is right, that I need some exercise. 

I thought a book would suit me better, so I picked up Mary Stewart's YOGA OVER 50 from my book shelf where it has been since 1994 when it came out.  On the back cover it says TEN MINUTES A DAY CAN TRANSFORM YOUR LIFE. That's encouraging if anything.

I placed two straight back chairs in a row and chose my first pose from the 'Beginners' category. I thought that I would start as simple and easy as possible. The posture was 'Mountain'. 

I am never barefoot, but now I took off my slippers and felt the softness of the rug. Since I am always dizzy I kept one chair close, and could reach the table easily, if needed.

In quiet concentration I kept my posture, felt how my foot muscles were working to keep my balance, and stood maybe five minutes or longer without holding on to anything, and without loosing my balance...

I tried 'Forward bend' and some 'Chair poses', but the 'Mountain' remained the Yoga revelation of today. That I could stand...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.