My mentor

“Try not to be too compliant,” she advised as we sipped our coffee. “You can lose yourself.” 

Odd advice, I thought, as I have never been accused of too much compliance. 

I can’t help feeling a bit worried about Margie this week. The heatwave has passed, but it’s still warm (67F/19C). Oddly, she felt cold (zipped up to the neck in a fleece jacket). When we stood up, she was dizzy and disoriented. I insisted we stand still and breathe till she felt more stable. “I just like to push on. It’s how I’ve always gotten through.” I delayed her by standing in front of her walker, my usual strong-willed self. 

As we parted, I felt a tightness in my chest, a reluctance to let go. She pushed on. She is such a treasure, modeling for me how to grow old with spirit, with vivacity, with non-compliance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.