A Healthy Snack.

A return to summer temps today with 30c, and because it was such a lovely day a lot of people came out to play, so we were very busy.

When I get home from work I'm always hungry and as I didn't fancy biscuits or bread I thought I'd have this lovely avocado, and very nice it was too.

I didn't like avocados when I was young. I always remember going to a school friends house In St John's Wood in London, I was about 13, and a group of us were invited for afternoon tea.

I was from a working class backgound, my friends weren't, but we all went to the same ballet school. Anyway, I'd never seen an avocado, let alone tasted one.

So my friends mother sets this thing down in front of me. I take a mouthful, and although I tried not to make a face, I obviously did. Next thing, the mother asks if I don't like, I said not really. So she whisks it away, saying 'too expensive to waste,' and asks if I like grapefruit, I said yes. At least I knew what that was.

She must've been prepared, within a couple of seconds there was half a grapefruit, complete with cherry, in front of me.

I was a very shy child, and this whole episode was devastating to me, but at least it didn't put me off loving avocados later in life.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.