SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

My new spectacles..

Back in the good old days, when the world wide web was in its infancy, I was child free and single.  I could spend time roaming the web looking for fun things.  There used to be a much higher ratio of fun and quirkiness compared to the boredom, shopping and anger we see nowadays.  The web was a place for eccentrics and geeks.  Then Racebook came along. Ebay used to be a place where you could recycle your old stuff and people bought stuff in good faith (rather than claim it never arrived and demand, and be given without question, their money back).

A couple of classics I recall still exist.  Here's one of my favourites... Children's hairstyles worldwide as depicted in road signs.  Yes, it exists and it looks like it's still being updated.

There was a also a site that had a competition where you invented collective nouns.  There was no prize - just the glory of being named on the site.  I tried, and failed - but I think that by the time I submitted my entry they'd given up and moved on.

My attempt: "A spectacle of drunken optometrists".  Not even my friends like it - but it still amuses me.

I still much prefer the word "spectacles" to "glasses".  Glasses are things you drink from in my book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.