Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Pip visits!

JR went off to a double dose of fitness routines. I did a double dose too, but mine can’t really be called ‘fitness’, although two sessions of the (F)HIIT - I have added an F for ‘Fairly’ - bike sessions must count for something.

I took Archie out for a walk while listening to my podcast. I left my mask at home on purpose, so I couldn’t pop into Victor Hugo deli and get a cinnamon bun (or two).

When JR came back we got the nibbles organised for the afternoon’s gathering in back garden - JR devises them, buys all the stuff, does a demo of one toothpick/skewer, then I assemble. I also get plenty of offcuts and leftovers while doing it.

I took Archie up to the graveyard to meet Pip off the lead. When they meet on the lead, Archie barks too much. Not a pleasant trait, and I really wish he didn’t do this, but we have to manage it. Anyway, Archie and Pip spotted each other from afar and just walked up and said hello. So it was easy for Pip to then come into the back garden without Archie getting all uppity. (Pip is quite a timid wee soul).

We had a lovely afternoon - Hazel came over too, and we had sunshine right up until about 6pm, when the expected rain arrived and we moved indoors. I was quite polite and waited till everyone had gone before I put the TV on to watch the tennis. Just watching Andy being knocked out as we speak…

I love Wimbledon’s peace and quiet. In just about every other major tennis tournament, certainly all the indoor ones, they have have raucous pop muzak when the players have a wee sit down. I’ve even heard it at cricket matches, in between changes of batters, for God’s sake! Wimbledon whites and decorum. Classy.

Here are the boys. We’re going to try reciprocal dog sitting. Pip is a real mummy’s boy - Abi works from home, so Pip has had his mum with him every day of his seven and a half years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.