Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

What a Difference an Hour Makes!

Wow - what a storm last night - the wind howled, the rain battered the windows and for a while kept us awake. I woke quite early for me and decided that I would go down to the beach and get underneath the pier to take some photographs of the waves. I put on lots of layers and made sure I was reasonably waterproof - as there was NO point in taking an umbrella in those conditions!

The beach, as I thought at 9.00 a.m. on a windy, wet and grey Saturday morning in March, was deserted and I guess anyone who saw me probably thought I was mad. Apart from the RNLI guys, the only others I saw were a dad and his 3 year old son on his scooter, just about to go along the pier.

The top three photographs show how wild and wet it was and as I struggled to walk along the beach against the wind, I was thinking of the song When the Oceans Rise and Thunders Roar

AND THEN............in the space of an hour, it had all changed - the sun came out, the wind dropped and blue skies were evident all round.

We met our friend, Michael, at Urban Reef - had a coffee and chat - then I decided that I needed to go and take some more photographs to prove how quickly the weather changes.

The bottom three photographs show how pleasant it was. John had been watching me from inside the restaurant, so I went back in and we then arranged to meet Paul and Tom, some other friends, and had another coffee - sometimes, in fact, most times, it is great to be retired and just "amble" along and do whatever takes your fancy! Then it was time to go back and read the papers.

Have a great weekend - and enjoy it whatever the weather where you are!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.