zac2202

By zac2202

RIP Pumbaa

Yesterday, was a day of great excitement and some saddest. Our excitement was that when I went to look for duck eggs at 7am. I heard a noise down in the river (I thought it was Murphy) but when I looked down into the river from above I saw an otter. I never thought I would see one on our stretch of the river, but there it was. I collected the eggs and thought nothing of it. As the day wore on I realised that we were down a duck. Pumbaa one of drakes was missing. At first we thought we must have lost him to a fox, but I went down onto the river at the end of the day to find what was left of him. This was no fox attack they unusually take their kills away and eat everything. Pumbaa had been decapitated and what was left was about 3 feet from the edge of the far riverbank. We think it must have been the otter. They are known to kill ducks, but it is rare. Let’s hope it was a one off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.