Fresh Perspectives

Eventually got the kayak out on the Lake this afternoon. Fascinating to see familiar places from the water - this is the end of my usual daily walk, one of the old roads that now ends in the Lake.

Two extras: 
- the view through one of the windows in the abandoned animal shelter we explored; we can see this from the first bridge and I've long wanted to get closer,
- and a few of the swallow nests under the bridge - there are hundreds more and clouds of swallows flying about, catching insects.

Gratefuls:
- my Mum's twin sister, 92 today, many happy returns, A Helen... her husband, my uncle, died on Wednesday, so it's not going to be a very happy birthday... He was a big influence on me, and the person who first challenged me that I could preach, though I'm not a man! Not that I've done much of that lately.
- our support group, who were a huge encouragement this morning, which in turn gave me energy to encourage others
- the book of Jeremiah in the Bible; known as the weeping prophet, but there are some beautifully positive promises in his writing, for example, 31v 12-14:

They will come and shout for joy on the heights of Zion;
    they will rejoice in the bounty of the Lord—
the grain, the new wine and the olive oil,
    the young of the flocks and herds.
They will be like a well-watered garden,
    and they will sorrow no more.
Then young women will dance and be glad,
    young men and old as well.
I will turn their mourning into gladness;
    I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.
I will satisfy the priests with abundance,
    and my people will be filled with my bounty,”
declares the Lord.

Grain, new wine, olive oil, flocks and herds - so redolent of life here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.