HarrietGeorgina

By HarrietGeorgina

Timber Grandeur Panorama

My 21st Birthday has been and gone, which means that I'm now the very proud owner of a Fuji X100. I actually had a lovely extended birthday, with LB coming to stay in Kent, cocktails in London with my best friend, a boozy dinner with my cousin and of course an arty visit to the Tate. All in all, a wonderful few days during which I was throughly spoilt!

Now that I've got my fancy new camera, which is also small enough to fit into my bag easily (so I can't use that as an excuse anymore), I thought I had better at least attempt to get to grips with it. This was taken at The Historic Dockyard in Chatham on the mezzanine floor of the immense covered slip. Apparently, when it was built in 1838 it was Europe's largest wide span timber structure, and I can certainly believe it. The sense of size and height is unbelievable!

There are plenty of other things to explore at The Historic Dockyard; warships, submarines, and the RNLI historic lifeboat collection to name just a few. More excitingly though, it is where scenes from both Les Miserables and one of my favourite TV shows, Call the Midwife have been filmed. Return visits are definitely in order.

Please take a look at this in large and also at the image uploaded to my blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.