a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Hello.....?

I spotted this newly emerged female blue damselfly this evening, trying to dry out before she flew off to find a safer perch for the evening.  I couldn't resist this shot of her as she carefully worked her way behind the iris leaf in order to hide from me, while still trying to keep an eye on whatever it was that I was up to.  

She looks for all the world like a teenager at her first dance.  It is very easy to see a personality in the way that she peeps out at the viewer, even though that is us imposing our human feelings and behaviours on her.

A few minutes after I took this shot, when I came back to check on her, she had gone - to start to hunt and gather her strength after which she will be back to the pond in a few days time in search of a mate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.