Henley-On-Thames

Friday
I had an errand to do in Henley today and I had time to have a little mooch around. I’ve said this before but I don’t come here often enough and it’s so close by! I did a little bit of impromptu shopping but mostly I just took pictures and enjoyed the views of the river. The Henley Regatta normally takes place right now the first week of July but has been delayed until the middle of August. In the top right photo you can see that they are building the enclosures and you can also see the long straight stretch of the river where the races take place.

The yellow building is the Chantry House connected to St Mary’s church. The building with the blue door is one of 14 almshouses originally built in the 1660s and rebuilt in 1846.

I was going to have an ice cream and eat it by the river but I actually ran out of steam and got too hot - it was cool when I left home and I’d misjudged the weather! It was also quite busy with people enjoying a sunny Friday afternoon by the river. It’s great to see people out enjoying themselves!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.