Battered!

These poppies have a short life normally but I've barely had time to enjoy them and they have been bashed about by the weather fronts which have come and gone the last twenty four hours.  I've also lost count of the number of times I've hung out the towels to dry and had to bring them in again.

It's been a busy day.  Thankfully, it was a fine morning so I set to painting my large cardboard box outside.  Tony embarked on a cooking fest, making sausage rolls; lemon drizzle cake and then lots of strawberry jam from the fruit in the allotment.  I managed to put some banana muffins in whilst he had a break.  In and around all this activity I watched an extremely wet mountainous stage of the Tour.  You had to feel for Ben O'Connor who took the race on, on the final 21km climb to the finish and was seconds away from the yellow jersey to have it retained by Pogacar in a last push (helped by his mates!)  

It was then time to make a start on the roast chicken dinner around watching the Mixed Sprint Final at the World Orienteering Champs.  Alice did a great job on the tough first leg to bring the team back in ninth place.  She passed to Ralph who pulled the team up to second place (that was exciting) and handed over to Peter and then Megan, the team finishing finally in 6th position.  

I am struggling to find blip time just now so the poppies from the window it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.