Welcome back!

Sunday 4th July 2021

10.10am Sunday morning, the bells were ringing and people were coming to church for the 10.30am service for the first time in 15 months. It was quite emotional, especially when I went out to start the service and saw how many had come. 73 adults and 16 children, all still socially distance with every other pew roped off and we still had plenty of empty pews down the side aisles. The Junior Choir sang Give me joy in my heart and Shine Jesus Shine and the congregation joined in the actions only. Everyone joined in with sign language for "I love you" by Doug Horley. The BBGA helped to lead the service. It all went really smoothly. 

After cleaning the church we then had a baptism, the first for my curate. He did really well. 

I got home just before 2pm, had lunch, fell asleep and slept solidly all afternoon. It's such a relief to get the first service back in church under our belt. There were so many emails flying about yesterday trying to finalise what we were doing.

I took the photo off of a brief video I filmed for Facebook with the sound of the bells.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.