CBLinks

By gallusboy

More Reflections!

More reflections today but not dipping into the water too deeply this time around. Yesterday's rant/thoughts on subscriptions was very lengthy (other descriptive words apply!). Indeed it was the length of journal that when opened up and you see it, it makes you think, "I haven't got time for this and will come back later ... maybe!". Today's reflection is about Blip's system for awards.

STARS
In the beginning I did award four and five stars to images. I couldn't ever award just three (two or one!). These days I only award five stars as an indication that I really like a blip. Most times I make my award based solely on the image but as I enjoy being entertained too sometimes I give stars to a witty or creatively written journal.

Perhaps just a 'Like It' symbol rather than a points would be better. When I am given stars by others it is almost always five so I am not alone in scoring in that way. So come on high heid yins, maybe it's time to think again!?

I use different ways to show that I have made awards and these include: 5*, *s and Stars! When awarding stars and a favourite/heart I mainly do *+!. I have been known to confuse people.

FAVOURITES/HEARTS
As only full members can award favourites/hearts not sure that this is entirely fair but perhaps it is seen as one of the incentives for people to take out a full subscription. It took me a little time to get in to the way of awarding my hearts (as I prefer to call them) but now given the quality of subscribers I have it is often the case that 3 in 24 hours is not enough!

My opinion is if you've got them use them and spread the joy because there is no doubt that it a lovely feeling to receive one. I give 90% of my stars to my 'coterie' and only occasionally award one to an 'outsider' whose photo I consider to be exceptional.

SPOTLIGHT SECTION (TOP 24)
I have hit the Spotlight once! I remember it well!! Being in the Spotlight is based on the number of views that blips are given within a number of hours/day. This seems to be only method that could be used but does result in many wonderful images being overlooked as not everyone has a big 'fan base' to draw on.

FAVOURITES SECTION (TOP 90)
This is based on the number of favourites/hearts that you receive from your fellow blippers. This is perfectly fair if slightly skewed as it depends on the number of subscribers that you have who are full members.

AND ANOTHER THING
I do think that it good etiquette to acknowledge that you have received awards. I answer almost all the comments I am given whether there are stars/hearts attached or not. There are some folks for whatever reason/s do not reply. I consider it to be bad manners if someone has given you an award, especially a heart, and you do not respond at all. A polite 'Thank you' is all that is needed, surely that is not too much to ask.

AND FINALLY
Just in case I have given the wrong impression I value all my subscribers equally and give my hearts to each and everyone on merit and not only to those who can reciprocate! Do I read too much into statistics probably/definitely/yes!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.