Around The Block

I'm not sure how to define my 'block'. The original idea was quite literal; the four streets around our house in Barcelona. The fact my first ever blip was taken in Palma de Mallorca was the earliest possible indication that the 'block' was going to be something more than that. And so it turned out, with walks around the Cadaques block, the Copacabana block and the Cairo block to name but a few.

It's far too grand to talk about the 'universal block', although that does capture something of the 'Everyman' aspect of walking around any block in the world. No, I think it's more about a way of being that is revealed by the level at which you interact with the environments you encounter. It's in the relationships you strike up with newspaper sellers, waiters, barbers and shoe shine boys. It's in the local exploration before sightseeing, in the leaving of food parcels in strategic points for needy local people to find. And, maybe, in tilting your head just a little!

It's not better nor worse than other ways of being, it's just my/our way. Always has been, and always will be. And I'm so happy, honoured and privileged that whether I've met you virtually or in person, I have a very real sense of being accompanied and supported by all of you as I step up and down from this pavement or that, look right, left and right again as I hazard a street crossing, and inhale this wonderful scent or that nose-wrinkling smell around whatever block I'm on! Thank you for the pleasure of your company.

And by way of special celebration, I'm now inviting LadyFindhorn who is beside me right now, along with His Lordship and Digitaldaze, to press the 'publish' button and declare three years of blipping complete!

Now for a glass of champagne!

PS
This structure supports one of the glass house roofs at Edinburgh's Royal Botanic Gardens. It's been a terribly dreich day today and my hopes for an Edinburgh skyline from the Botanics were lost in swirling mist.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.