Portrait of a Wild Mouflon (sheep).

What a fantastic late afternoon safari above Torgon. I had done a long, fruitless walk around the area where these elusive animals live and stopped at a buvette for an ice cream. A rather scary, chain smoking, wild haired man was sitting there with a camera and long lens. I could overhear him telling some people that he could see some mouflon with his binoculars and, suddenly, I could see them too with my naked eye. I had a quick chat with him and he showed me some film footage he had shot last year. I decided to risk climbing back up the hill again and was richly rewarded. I was quite close to this young male and 2 females before they saw me and trotted off. They circled above me and brought several females and the lamb with them. You can see the female has nearly finished her moult and the lamb still has its umbilical chord in the first extra! The group joined up with a mature male and you can see how big the horns grow in the second extra.

Huge thanks from yesterday’s Golden Eagle too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.