What came first the onion or the dome

"An onion dome is a dome whose shape resembles an onion and is usually associated with Russian architectural style ....... " Wiki
"Russian church architecture is very diverse -  a church which has 13 domes is usually dedicated to Christ and the Apostles" .....

I immediately think of those gleaming domes when I see these onions that are going to seed on the plot. They looked beautiful with the sunlight behind them this morning up on the plot. The POWER of a FLOWER form.
Blip done, I could then concentrate on my plot jobs. I love the peace & quiet up on the plot when I'm alone it's very calming. I cleared the Rainbow chard bed, dug it over, then sowed a row of carrots, sowed some clumps of dwarf French beans, an idea taken from another allotmentee. Checked the fruit bushes, removing the bindweed. A bit of weeding done. The squash, pumpkin, & courgettes are all flowering, the first fruits forming, time to start feeding .. I lifted the lid on the comfrey feed .... Blimey!!! What a whiff!!! I apologised to Stuart my plot neighbour, as I fed the plants. Had a chat with Sam, a newbie, she was building 3 compost bins, wire mesh, timber, hinged lids .. very impressive! Compared notes with Richard & Shirley. It's a funny ol' growing season for sure.
I rang the pharmacy at 9am, checking on my medication prescription. The pharmacy can't open as they don't have a pharmacist. They could'nt find my prescription, although, it was apparently passed from the surgery on the 27th June. I told her I'd pop in around lunch time to see if it was in. They have a new computer system and have lost patients telephone numbers .. among other things. :-(
Mum rang me .. GTec have a 20% off deal ending today. She wants a new hedge trimmer but we can't find a light weight model suitable. I rang GTec last week when I was with her but she'd forgotten. 2.5kg is the lightest model. I told her I'd phone the local agricultural machinery dealer to check on their offer. They have a model 2.3kg that is charged by plugging into the mains. I'll take her to have a look at it. See if it's suitable. 
I left the plot went to the pharmacy, door locked, notice on the door. No pharmacist so cannot open the shop. The staff were working inside, one of the ladies opened the door. I explained my situation that I only have 1 dose of my prescription left. She checked, no prescription, but it's been ordered. No deliveries today. "Well we've done our bit". That's not a lot of help to me ... I'll find out what it's like without the meds tomorrow.
Tennis viewing from Wimbledon this afternoon ...

Thanks to Doyley22 for hosting this weeks Mono Monday theme Flower Power

The Onion Song Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell -  http://https://youtu.be/qHyvHb1q4I8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.