Tow Hill Ponds

My husband wanted to jog, and I needed to go for my daily walk. So we took our bikes up to the gameland, and we went from there. There is a little beaver pond I often walk to, but I decided to go further this time. I wanted to go see the bigger ponds that are a longer walk away.

So I put it into high gear, and off I went. I marked the last turn or two with oddly shaped sticks so I could be sure to find my way back. Because on the way down, it feels like just one big, main path - who could possibly get lost? But on the way BACK, you see that there are several off-shoots that you could mistakenly take.

This photo is of one of what we locals call the Tow Hill Ponds, in the Scotia Barrens. The water is very dark and murky, and there are trees all around. Sometimes you may even see a beaver in one of these ponds, but not today.

You'll be happy to know that I found my way back successfully. And I even got to pet a HORSE! For there was a lady with a horse out riding. I stepped off the trail for them. "Hello!" I said, hailing her from a distance; "I am off the trail for you!" She told me the horse doesn't mind walking people, just bike riders.

They came right up to me and she let the horse sniff me, and I petted its soft nose. "Hello, big boy," I said. "Pretty boy, sweet boy." I don't know much about horses but I think that's how you talk to them. She worried that it would snorfle me, but it had a little mesh covering on over its mouth, and so it couldn't; I stayed snorfle-free.

So there was my big morning adventure. A bike ride. A hike. A trip to the Tow Hill Ponds. And a visit with a horse!

The soundtrack song is for that water you see, that is dark with tannin: the Doobie Brothers, with Black Water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.