Kalyn at Xwaaqw'um

Last day of the visit.  After a good Sunday morning breakfast, Renata, Kalyn, Spencer and I headed for a quick walk and time on the beach at Xwaaqw'um. The girls always love going there and Kalyn wanted Spencer to see it. They had fun turning over rocks to see the tiny crabs scuttle away and generally exploring the beach. Like me, Renata doesn't like having her photo taken, but I convinced her to stand behind 'my' rusty ball with the other two and 'allow' me to post the photo as an extra. They enjoyed seeing the little houseboat that washed up on the beach a few months ago and that I've blipped a few times. It looks like someone is living there, some new additions to it, including a DVD player that looked very new and a dog bed. It's in the background here. I took some photos for my other journal but accidentally deleted them. 
No one was very hungry when we got home, so they just had some snacks then packed up to go back to the mainland. Huge hugs at the ferry as we sent them on their way. Knowing that we'll see them again when we go over in a couple of weeks made it a bit easier to say goodbye. Can't wait to see James, Krista, Dan, the granddogs and grandcats soon! 
Kalyn and Spencer are already making a list of everything they missed this visit and want to do next time they come in August.
I don't have the words to describe the joy of being with part of the family again, and having time with Doogie and Impy as well was fantastic. I don't have a very good memory, but the memories we have from these three days will stay with me and G forever.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.