Appreciation

By Appreciation

This image made me shudder and came hot on the heels of having just taken my big girl pants off!

After the deluge of rain since Sunday, I spotted a small break in the rain which would allow me to view the carnage I felt certain would be at the allotment. I had visions of strawberries a mush and courgette plants struggling, beans flattened, but no, mostly things were fine. Birds had eaten a few rows of lettuce in their rush to eat before more rain and the onion stalks have flattened, but that's OK.

What I hadn't anticipated was the ten or so wasps/bees who had set up a wee nest in my burning bin. I could see them flying in and out. So close to my bench. I'm allergic to wasp and bee stings. Don't make me relive my primary one sat on a wasp sting and was made to show the teacher my rapidly swelling bottom in front of the whole class!

I knew I had to stop them setting up home and growing the nest so, with a big stick, I removed the nest. I was sweating. Then, as if in punishment, I saw this guy on the phone in the driveway of his house. Had he wrapped up his bees, were there a few scouting about? Had they heard of my crime? I squealed and ran all the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.