Anti-Bedroom Tax Protest: Douro Place, Norwich

About 150-200 people turned up on a pretty cold afternoon to protest about the 'Bedroom Tax' which comes into force at the beginning of April, which was a pretty good number. Some protesters arrived in their nightwear or brought sleeping bags, like the chap you see here. My chum Malika had made the banner and it pretty much sums up the general feeling.

There were young people, people with children, able bodied people, elderly people, disabled people - all united in their concern and anger about this horrific tax. The protest I attended was being held outside the offices of a local MP (who was nowhere to be seen), about 10 mins walk from the city centre, and at the same time another protest on this same issue was being held in the city centre.

On reflection, I think it's good that two protests took place as more people will have been made aware of the issue.

One of the outcomes of the protest I attended is that there is a strong committment that we need to begin to plan for the evictions which will inevitably occur; how we can support those facing eviction and to plan direct action. As is happening in Spain. The first planning meeting is taking place this coming Wednesday - the 20th March - at the Vauxhall Centre in Norwich. 7pm.

My parents would be horrified at this tax but very proud that people are taking a stand.

As the people of Spain say: No people without houses! No houses without people!

Full set of pics can be seen on my LookSeeClick photo page here if you are on FB. I've opened a Flickr account but have yet to post my pics. That's for tomorrow, when I feel a bit rested.

ps: Flickr photostream is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.