NigelHarvey

By NigelHarvey

Stairwell

It's been the worst kind of day today. Snowing and raining, lots of water around, cold, no decent light. Unblippable really. But, ever the optomist, as we ventured out on the Tesco-run I did take my camera. Weekends are always full of errands, two whole days go past with nothing seeming to happen except somehow wads of cash pass out of my bank account to unpleasant multinational conglomerates. Today we leavened our routine weekend spending frenzy by taking my son's guitar and amp to his flat so that it can gather dust there rather than in what was his bedroom in our house. His flat is in a tenement in town, and as we entered the street door a rather chintzy little photograph presented itself in the shape of a cat sitting in a pool of light on the stairwell. I dashed back to the car for the camera, got it all out and set up as someone came out of the first floor flat to take their dog for a walk in the rain. The cat bolted. So I took the stairwell instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.