CHUKKA

CHUKKA
Now I am going to impress you with my little knowledge of the Game of Polo !

If, like me, you thought a Polo was a mint - wrong - I attended my first Polo Match today. It was very exciting indeed, in spite of the poor weather.

Four teams played in a competition. Players seem to be handicapped according to their experience. There are 6 members in each team, with only 3 playing at a time. In a game of two halves (or chukkas), players and/or horses can be changed. The only exception is the Team Captain, who must play both chukkas.

A goal is scored when the ball hits a very tiny part of the outer fence.

I have posted another picture here as I was not sure which one to publish.

Many thanks to coach Tony and everyone at the White Rose Polo Club. For club details, please click here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.