LD 469 A surprise and a lesson

This morning's post brought a very oddly shaped, and extremely well wrapped , package from a friend in Canada.   

Having opened it I said to Cathleen that I could never have guessed, no matter for how long I had tried, what was inside - this bottle of maple syrup, the book which not only tells you how maple syrup is made but also includes some amazing recipes (even I am tempted by the Brussel Sprout and cabbage one, though I never knowingly eat the former) and a fascinating letter about the pandemic and the growing desire that Chris had to make maple syrup from his own maple tree - of which this is the outcome.

I was touched and delighted by such a wonderful out of the blue present and will tell him so later today.   But the example of how the pandemic has , despite all the suffering and  trauma, also presented new and positive opportunities which can be generously shared with our friends is an even better learning experience.  

Thank you Chris and Hazel - you made my day, and more ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.