jiana

By jiana

my mom's wish on the star festival

Today is the star festival in Japan. We Japanese write wishes in a piece of paper to hang it on a bamboo tree.

When I was small, I enjoyed this event. Time passed by my children did it. Now my grandchildren write their wishes in a small paper.

This wish is written by my mother, her wish is to see her great grandchildren. She has one great granddaughter and three great grandsons.

To tell the truth, when I found this wish I was very surprised because I have never expected she can think about her great grandchildren and write these words.

She has been hospitalized for 7 months because of her fracture and her dementia became worse.
We could not see face to face for months because of pandemic beside every two weeks internet visit.

When I saw her she looked very sleepy and vacantly. But about 2 months ago since she moved to an elderly welfare facility, she became sharp to show her will more clearly. I don't know why, but this is the preferable situation for her and for us.

Now she can not see her great grandchildren. It was prohibited because of pandemic. I want her to see her great grandchildren just after this pandemic is over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.