a tale of two weathers

The main photo shows my view looking north from the beach at RSPB Mersehead this afternoon. I had set off for my walk in bright warm sunshine - the weather forecast said there was a 5% chance of rain, so I left my coat in the car. Indeed, if you look at my extra photo, you will see that looking south over the Solway, the sky was bright, clear and blue. At this stage, the wind was blowing onto the beach from the South West, but this cooler breeze  meeting the hot air in front of the hills (I think) is what caused the build up of black clouds and then...rain. I had another half a mile to walk before reaching the car park and there was no shelter, but it was summer rain, so I didn't feel cold. I was still wet, however, when I got to my work staff meeting just after 4pm. By the time it finished, at 6pm,  I was dry again :-)

In the extra photo, you can see that the sea was a long way away! I didn't check the tide times before I went as it didn't really matter to me that much. I didn't get a paddle, but it was nice to walk barefoot on the firm sandy mud. Those green plants are samphire.

Today's walk: Mersehead 3.29 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.