Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Blue Eyes

Having been gardening all day and seeing ominous clouds on the horizon I kicked myself for not getting out sooner and hot-footed it to Ripple Lake. Barely setting foot out of the carpark the sun was engulfed by an enormous  black cloud and no dragon was going to fly with a breeze and no sunshine.

It was a bit of luck that on my walk through the piles of yellow vetch that I disturbed him; up he flew onto the grassy stem and stayed there long enough for me to grab a couple of shots with the vetch behind. 

This is a male scarce chaser which can be confused with the black-tailed skimmer, broad-bodied chaser and keeled skimmer. He has the most gorgeous blue eyes which eyed me with mistrust from the start but in the end I did get my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.