Windmill 'De Bommelaer', den Bommel

Den Bommel is the name of the village, one of my favourite names. :D))
The windmill had no name for centuries, until the entire structure was renovated in the period 1969 to 1971, so 'de Bommelaer' is a fairly recent addition to its history.  Although built in 1735, it was not the first one to stand on this spot on the dike.

I took two trips to den Bommel to shoot this.  Earlier in the day, when the clouds were still thick, I took shots.  I had thought of going to the Alblasserwaard again, but then did a U-turn at the exit going to Dordrecht, returned on the A16, and decided that the A29 would be more worth it.  The clouds were indeed thinner there, but still not thin enough, and more floated into the area as I was busy.  Went home and spent an inordinate amount of time post-processing, and some housework, too.  And then, right after dinner, the skies cleared up spectacularly and I told AW I just had to give it another shot.  In short, this is a pre-sunset shot, with still enough light to go by, and thankfully no more clouds.

Extra 1 = the shot I first chose, taken on the first trip
Extra 2 = the first stone, with the names of the owners and the one who laid the stone
Extra 3 = a bonus!  Not all windmills have tourist information in English, but this one does!

My interest in the football championships has gone down considerably, but I still found Italy's win almost comical.  More interesting now is the book on the Burgundians.

I am thinking of experimenting with Comments set to 'Off' during the Olympic Games, which will start on Friday, 23 July.  After the two weeks of the Games, I will see how I feel again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.