stuartjross

By stuartjross

El Kessocko

My first DSLR, used here, is still the only one that gives me any telephoto reach if I need it. However action, low light, long lens and small maximum aperture all fight agaist one another. The shutter speed for this action is still modest yet I am up at over 2000 ISO and is at the limit for the physically small sensor. I suppose that's why the pros dotted round the touch line sit behind lenses and bodies that cost the same as a small car. Don't get me wrong I still enjoy using this camera. My newer, more capable, body is paired with a relatively wide angle lens and in truth I wouldn't be comfortable taking it to such an event in case it got damaged.

Anyway, the title is referece to the Kessock Bridge which separates Inverness from the much smaller town of Dingwall, home of Ross County and perhaps it is a name which will stick for this now famous all Highland SPL derby. It is supposed to sound like it is a battle between the superstars of Barcelona and Real Madrid.

L supports Inverness Caledonian Thistle and we, L and I, got tickets for the match today. Perhaps not for the purist, it was an exciting high tempo game with some gutsy tackling going on and as usual with these events referee decisions which attracted considerable criticism. From a Ross County point of view this being the most contoversial; a penalty awarded for an illegal tackle within the box. The score being one all at the time meant that successful conversion would restore ICT's lead and that was how it unfolded, Billy MacKay's penalty proving to be the winner.

I'm sure there are blip folk with no interest in football but to put this in context Ross County hold the record for the longest sequence of SPL games unbeaten this season -it ended today- including a well deserved victory over one of the bigger Glasgow teams last weekend.

While L supports Inverness I struggle to polarise my support fully in one direction in the Highland derby and when they are playing nearly anyone else I favour both Highland teams to win.

Today L was delighted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.