olib

By olib

Beast to be tamed

Tomorrow I'm playing my first service for thirty odd years, and in a United Reformed Church. I've never even been to a service at a URC. At least they don't sing psalms, I understand. I played for a psalm once. In the middle, I couldn't hear which verse the congregation was singing, and then my brain scrambled and I couldn't remember which quarter of the chant I had just played. And at the organ console, you might be in charge of the most powerful of instruments, but there's nobody to help you if you go wrong! Singing in a choir, all you have to do is glare at your neighbour. Playing in an orchestra, it's all the conductor's fault. Or the trombones put you off playing too loudly in your ear.
Anyway, I had a little practice today, and tried to find some not-too-jolly music for before and after the service, given that it's Lent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.