Steps…

As arranged this morning the decorator turned up to pressure wash my house. I had stayed in so that he could plug his pressure washer into my electricity but it turns out he wanted water for his petrol pressure washer! That I can’t supply so it seems he’ll have to do it all by hand. Miscommunication between 2 men it seems (my landlord and the decorator)!!
So since my presence was no longer required I went for a quick whiz around town. And there I met my brother and had a chat…
Update at mid afternoon. My landlord texted at lunchtime to ask if he could have access to connect to water. I said yes certainly. About an hour later he turned up and next thing was having an animated conversation with a lady. He eventually rang my doorbell and said he wanted to be sure the key he had fitted the door. I said by all means check but if it was the one I gave him it did fit because I tested it. We tested again and it did indeed fit. The lady was the owner of the other half of the house and she had come to find out why there was scaffolding outside her house. When painting the house was first mentioned about 2 years ago the whole thing was going to be painted and the cost split between them but that had gone by the by when she was selling the house. So scaffolders will be back tomorrow to remove half of it. 
Now the water. Landlord said it could be connected to kitchen tap. How? It’s an elegant slim, shiny tap.  Decorator joined the conversation to say that he couldn’t connect to a kitchen tap; the very conversation we had when he furst got here. So putting that aside landlord said he still needed to access electricity. I pointed out that the cleaner was petrol driven. So they scratched their heads for half an hour! Then I asked whether they had asked Becky at the shop whether they could use her water connection if they give her something for the water. Discussion for another half an hour. So I went down to the shop to ask. Yes she had a hose connection; yes they could use it. Further conversation then the pair went down to speak to her. All agreed she would let them have the water in return for cleaning her tiny flagstone area outside her shop. 
Not sure when all this is happening because when I looked out the window a few minutes later the decorator and his van had gone,
To be continued tomorrow…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.