SueL7

By SueL7

Herein lies a sad story.

Dad Kestrel seen here flying out of the nest with the huge vole he brought for his chicks. He is leaving because the nest is empty - while he and Mum Kestrel have been away from the nest hunting, predation has occurred. I am heartbroken. This happened to the same pair last year. I realised something was amiss when I got to the nest at 5.30 this morning - usually I am greeted with the intermittent chitterings of the chicks, and the occasional sighting of a little head or two peering out of the nest. Today it was all eerily silent - not a sound. When Dad arrived with the vole it was the same - silence when usually there is quite a commotion. He flew out with the vole, but returned a few minutes later still carrying the vole. He stood on the edge go the nest for a minute or two, making little calling noise, then flew off again. I was here for a couple of hours during which time there was no further activity.
The nest is very vulnerable - very open to predation really. Tonight I learned that the predator was most likely one of the many Barn Owls that live in Home Park. I guess that is nature - sad nevertheless.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.