Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

A Little Drip

A ribbed glass bowl, left to dry this morning, provided the subject for the Abstract Thursday challenge (thanks, as ever, Ingeborg). Just one or two little drops of water were left when I remembered ...

I went to get my eyes checked over today - a long-overdue visit. The usual stuff, reading the charts, drops in the eyes, those questions "which is sharper, A or B" - so difficult to decide sometimes. Not to mention the photographs of the retina, and that little puff of air that always takes me by surprise. 

And all while wearing a mask, and talking to a man also wearing a mask and sometimes behind a screen. It was quite strange.

However, he was able to reassure me that my eyeball pressures are within the right range, that my funny experience with the scintillating circular saw was quite normal, that the cataracts are growing only slowly and there's no sign of the macular degeneration that caused my mother to go blind. All that was worth an uncomfortable half-hour.

Choosing new frames was more challenging.  It's hard to tell what suits your facial features when most of them are concealed. The dispenser and I wore down the dozens of options to four, then she found a small mirror and we went out into the courtyard where I could take the mask off and reveal all. After that it was all quite easy. Just the small matter of the (enormous) bill ......  Maybe I should have gone to Specsavers ..... :-))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.