Action Time Vision

By ATV

I Hate Scotland

I've been trying to get a picture of this tower for ages.

It is the Binns Tower.

Had a drive through to Edinburgh to try to track down a dvd didn't get it but bought loads of other cheapness at Fopp.

I did my good deed for the day when I saw someone pick up the last Smashing Pumpkins cd - Zeitgeist so I felt obliged to put him straight. He put it straight back wiped the relief from his face and stepped slowly away from it.

"I Hate Scotland" is a track by Edinburgh legends Balboy.

I took their five albums in the car and listened to some of them.

Ballboy are indie darlings overflowing with the spirit of punk. Having formed in 1999 the band is part time (they all have full time jobs) and released their last album "I Worked On the Ships" on their own label.

Ballboy have perfected the art of producing amazing songs often only based on two chords, with no middle eight or break, often utilising the loud/quiet on a theme format put to inter-stellar levels by fellow Scots the mighty Mogwai along with very simple lyrics/spoken word a la gutter poetry of Falkirk favourites Arab Strap.

If I can direct you to a great early track "Leave The Earth Behind You And Walk Into The Sunshine" clocks in at 7.48 and is a great example of the two chord formula used to startling haunting effect.

You can listen to a load of Ballboy tracks at their Lastfm page or if you use Spotify see what they have.

It's not for everyone - Mrs. ATV simply said "Turn that sh*te off!" last week in the car.

Ho-humm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.