Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Stuck in Traffic

Miss L and I listen to music at top blast all the way to and from school every day. And we sing along at the tops of our voices. It's my favourite part of the day.
This morning, stuck in the traffic jam at the roadwork lights, I groaned to Miss L that I wouldn't miss this.
She looked a bit surprised and said "You won't miss this?" waving the phone. The minute she said it I felt like I'd been punched in the stomach. I've been thinking a lot lately about the days of the school run drawing to an end but up until that moment I hadn't considered the end of the singing. Such a little thing and that's what broke my heart.
There's one song - Tears of Gold - which has a line in it which I misheard the first time we listened to it. I heard "Come back like a Mini-Egg" rather than "Come back like a maniac"
Miss L and I ended up crying laughing listening to it and now we sing Mini Egg at the top of our voices every time we hear it. In fact it makes me laugh every time the song even starts. Brilliant.
I've taken this special time with Miss L for granted and now it's almost over.
I'm so bad with endings and this feels like the mother of all endings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.