memento

By memento

A bit of luck

I'm scraping ice on the driveway when the new neighbor across the street pulls up. As I customarily do, I walk across the street to introduce myself and welcome him to the neighborhood. He's in his late twenties, is my guess, fairly non-descript but beams a friendly smile toward me as he turns to let his leashed dog out the car. An absolutely beautiful, muscular and gleaming, honey colored pit-bull mix emerges. He introduces himself and his dog. I do the same and ask him if she's friendly. When I receive his confirmation, I take one glove off to let her smell my hand, which she does gently. We talk for about a minute about the neighborhood and it's when I look down at her that she lunges two feet into the air, straight at my face and hits my upper lip with her muzzle so forcefully that it instantly starts bleeding. Her body language is clear. Too much too soon. Her human is not her leader and needs to be protected. He just about faints, the poor guy and can't not apologize enough even though I assure him that I'm alright, despite being stunned.

Back inside, I discover that my upper gum is smashed right at the tooth line, a pulpy mess and bleeding rather profusely. No loose teeth though. As I'm was disinfecting and tending to the wound I suddenly feel queasy when I realize that she could have ripped my face off if she wanted to. That would have sucked. I feel a bit lucky. It's a bit lucky for him that it happened to me and not one of the other neighbors.

Happier thing about today: I'm charging the battery on a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 as we speak and in the morning, I can continue working on my app, as I will now be able to test the video component of it. So excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.