Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

A Fine Evening for A Walk and a Run

The weather in our part of the world has been uncharacteristically cool and damp for this time of the year. It's not been entirely unwelcome, especially for Miss Fluffy as her thick coat combined with her tendency for exuberant running & jumping can quickly lead to overheating. Either way, the cool of the evening is a perfect time for a walk and we'd just time for a slightly extended one.

Safely away from the road and beyond the station, I let the fluff monster off the lead, in readiness for our walk along the river path. Soon after, three dogs approached from the opposite direction. Larger dogs. Also off their leads. With no recall. They looked like trouble, so I called Fluffy back to me, by which time she was surrounded by the others and was in no mood for standing for me - I can't blame her for that.

She's well known to stand her own ground and has seen off a Jack Russell / Manchester Terrier combo in the woods some while back. This time, after having fired a warning salvo at one of the dogs, decided odds were against her and took flight.

She didn't stop.

Despite her aggressors quickly losing interest, she ran all the way to the end of the cinder track, around the gate and onto the road, at which point I lost sight of her. Despite making pursuit as rapidly as my legs would carry me (it was a full-on 1/4 mile sprint and although cycling is my thing and I'd gladly roam for hours, running is not) there was no sign of her.

Let me tell you, dog calling after a significant sprint doesn't come easily but fortunately within seconds, a helpful driver stopped to tell me a nearby homeowner had just taken her in.

Thankfully, returned with no apparent harm done, we continued on the shortened walk route after having given the other dog walkers a piece of my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.