Methil No Mo-er

Or, ooh, my knees!

I didn't think we would walk any of the coastal path this weekend as the weather forecast was awful. Mr M convinced me it would be ok though and, to his credit, it was - in fact t was the hottest day we've had so far and no rain.
Quite a contrast to previous sections at the beginning of the walk. First few towns were old mining towns, lots of boarded up shops and obviously considerably more poverty than the fishing villages we've walked through the past few weeks. Methil is mentioned in the Proclaimers song 'Letter From America.' After about an hour we got back onto the path along the coast which was lovely. Some caves with pictish carvings and a few more fishing villages. Looking for lunch in one we were directed to a marquee on the harbour where they were frying burgers for a fishing competition. All the wee boats set out to sea at 2pm and they had to be back by 4pm with their catch. Not sure whether it was most fish or biggest fish that won.
All through the walk I was feeling pleased that, for the first time since beginning the walk in October, my knees weren't playing up. I felt great. However, with the end of the day in sight I got my shoe lace caught around my other foot and fell flat. As I went down I thought - please god don't let me break my wrist again and so I landed on my knees instead. Ouch! Ripped my blouse and broke my camera but worst of all I fell in full view of a group of older people who all gathered round to see if I was okay. Most embarrassing. My knees are now knackered and I'm hobbling. Hoping they'll be better in the morning.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.