WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

L'art caché

After my daily swim, we headed off to the annual art exhibition in Albas, L'Art Caché. It appears I haven't been to this since 2017, not sure how that happened. I think it's the best of these local exhibitions; despite being a small village in the back of beyond, they seem to find new artists every year, and the quality is generally high. There were several items I'd happily have taken home (I liked these abstract paintings by Karine Damour). Another highlight, excellent work I most likely wouldn't want on my wall (all those eyes!) was Eric Demelis's crowded, meticulous ink drawings. I didn't take many photos, but click right from here to see a few more.

It was a blazing hot day again, 35C when we arrived at almost midday. So the first port of call was the bar for an ice cream. The artists' work is displayed in gardens, barns, and courtyards around the village. We went round half of them and then decided to head for the Thai food truck for lunch. The wait for food was at least 45 minutes by this time though, so we settled for local beer and some good crêpes which were ready in only 20 minutes. Followed by another ice cream.

Then the rest of the exhibits, and home. As we were leaving Albas, the theatre company were there setting up for the play we saw on Friday. When we said we'd seen it, the lady dishing out plans of the exhibition asked us what we thought of it. We tried to be tactful but made our opinion clear. 

At home, recuperation in the shade with a cold drink, catching up on the Wimbledon ladies' final and today's cycle racing. That's my dose of sport done for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.