Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

A blackbird

We have several blackbirds in the garden who display distinctly "unblackbird" type behaviour.  They have clearly been watching the various tits, starlings and corvids, and this year have learnt to help themselves to chunks from the fat cake, instead of waiting on the ground for the droppings.

Previously I have only ever seen this behaviour from inside the house or the studio - the blackbirds have been reluctant to perform when I was out in the garden with a camera, but today I had walked down the garden to take photos of plants, and as I was walking back up, realised that one of them was putting on a show.  I managed to get a burst of shots.

In extras, you can see it - I think this one is a youngster, so don't know how to tell what sex it is at that age - perched on the trellis after its exertions.  It isn't only the youngsters - I've seen a fully mature male doing this as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.